OpenAI Dots are the headline launch from OpenAI DevDay 2026: on September 29, 2026, OpenAI introduced “remarkably capable, always-on agents built to handle everything” that keep working on your goals in the background, even when you are not chatting with ChatGPT.
That is a big shift from the chatbot most people know. Instead of answering one question and waiting for the next, a dot gets its own cloud computer and browser, connects to the apps you approve, and checks back in when it needs you. OpenAI announced Dots alongside more than 20 other updates, including a new GPT-6.1 Sol model and a $500-per-month Pro 500 plan.
Here is a plain-English guide to what was announced, who can use it today, what it costs, and the safety questions worth asking before you hand an AI agent the keys to your inbox.
Quick Answer: OpenAI Dots are always-on AI agents in ChatGPT, announced on September 29, 2026, at OpenAI DevDay. Each dot runs on GPT-6 Astra with its own cloud computer and browser, connects to more than 4,000 apps, and works toward your goals in the background. It is rolling out first to ChatGPT Pro and Business Premium users.
Key Takeaways
- OpenAI announced Dots, a new kind of always-on AI agent, at DevDay 2026 in San Francisco on September 29, 2026.
- According to OpenAI, each dot runs on the GPT-6 Astra model and has its own cloud computer and browser, plus access to more than 4,000 apps through plugins.
- Dots are rolling out to ChatGPT Pro and Business Premium users in eligible markets, with a beta for Enterprise, Edu, and Healthcare workspaces that admins must switch on.
- Your first dot is included with a Pro or Business Premium plan at no extra cost, according to OpenAI.
- OpenAI also launched GPT-6.1 Sol, which it says delivers “near-Astra intelligence” at a fifth of Astra’s standard token prices, and a new Pro 500 plan with 25 times the ChatGPT Plus usage allowance.
What Are OpenAI Dots?
OpenAI Dots are persistent AI agents that pursue goals you set over days or weeks, rather than answering a single prompt. An AI agent is software that can plan and take actions on your behalf, such as browsing the web, filling in forms, or sending messages, instead of only generating text.
According to OpenAI’s Introducing Dots announcement, every user starts with one “primary dot” that they can name and customize. The dot learns your preferences from feedback and conversation, and when it is idle it looks for ways to help using read-only access to your connected apps.
TechCrunch reporter Lucas Ropek described Dots as a “bubbly, cartoonish” persona that appears as small floating dots, and noted that much of what Dots can do was already possible with OpenAI’s Codex and similar agent tools. The difference is packaging: Dots bundles those abilities into one assistant designed to act independently with minimal oversight.
What can a dot actually do?
- Software developers can assign a dot to monitor customer feedback and implement bug fixes or requested features.
- Scientists can have a dot rerun analysis and investigate unexpected results as new experimental data arrives.
- Busy professionals can message their dot in Slack, Microsoft Teams, or ChatGPT on desktop, web, and mobile, or talk to it by voice call. OpenAI says texting is “coming soon.”
- Companies can set up “specialist dots” with their own identity, credentials, and tools. OpenAI says it is working with Microsoft to bring these into Microsoft’s Agent 365 security controls.
When and Where Was Dots Announced?
OpenAI held DevDay 2026 on Tuesday, September 29, 2026, at Fort Mason in San Francisco, with CEO Sam Altman delivering the opening keynote at 10 a.m. Pacific Time. According to Quartz, via Yahoo Tech, Altman posted on X the day before that he was “pretty excited” and that the company had “found a new thing.”
The event took place under heavy safety scrutiny. Quartz reported that OpenAI told the Wall Street Journal it had pulled a planned successor to its Astra model over safety concerns.
Who Can Use OpenAI Dots, and How Much Does It Cost?
Availability depends on your plan. The table below summarizes what OpenAI published in its DevDay 2026 recap and Dots announcement.
| Plan | Dots access | Cost for Dots |
|---|---|---|
| ChatGPT Free, Go, Plus | Not included at launch | Not available yet |
| ChatGPT Pro | Rolling out now in eligible markets | First dot included |
| Business Premium | Rolling out now in eligible markets | First dot included |
| Enterprise, Edu, Healthcare | Beta, off by default; admin must enable | Not stated |
| Specialist dots | Focused enterprise pilots only | Not stated |
A few pricing details matter for everyday users:
- Your first dot is included. OpenAI says the first dot comes with a Pro or Business Premium plan at no extra cost.
- Chats with your dot are free of usage limits. Conversations with your dot do not count toward ChatGPT usage limits, but tasks run in Codex or ChatGPT Work do count as usual.
- More dots are coming. OpenAI says you will later be able to add more dots and scale each dot’s speed or monthly output. It has not published dollar prices for that.
What Else Did OpenAI Launch at DevDay 2026?
OpenAI’s recap lists 25 announcements. These are the ones most likely to matter to regular ChatGPT users and small teams.
GPT-6.1 Sol
GPT-6.1 Sol is an upgrade to GPT-6 Sol that OpenAI says is strong at agentic coding, computer use, and professional work. In OpenAI’s words, “It delivers near-Astra intelligence to everyone at a fifth of its standard input and output token prices.” It is available to API, Plus, Pro, Business, Enterprise, and Edu users.
The $500 Pro 500 plan and Ultrafast
Pro 500 is a new ChatGPT tier priced at $500 per month, according to Reworked. OpenAI says it offers “our highest usage allowance at 25 times the ChatGPT Plus allowance,” plus access to Ultrafast. Ultrafast is a premium speed tier that, according to OpenAI, “offers up to 8× faster token generation (300 tokens per second) in Codex and up to 6x in the API.” Reworked notes that faster token generation does not necessarily mean tasks finish that much faster end to end.
ChatGPT Space, Pages, and Slack/Teams mentions
- ChatGPT Space is a shared workspace where teammates, ChatGPT, and dots work from the same knowledge base. It is available to Pro, Business, and Enterprise on desktop and web.
- @ChatGPT in Slack and Microsoft Teams lets Business and Enterprise teams mention ChatGPT in channels and threads, and OpenAI says teammates do not need individual ChatGPT licenses.
Sign in with ChatGPT
Sign in with ChatGPT lets Plus and Pro subscribers use their plan allowance in 16 partner tools, including Notion, Vercel, and Devin, without separate API keys or model bills, according to OpenAI’s recap.
Are Always-On AI Agents Safe?
This is the question to ask before turning on any agent that can act for you. OpenAI built several guardrails into Dots, according to its announcement:
- Separate computers. Your personal computer stays separate from the dot’s cloud computer unless you choose to connect it.
- Hidden passwords. Dots can use saved passwords to sign into websites without exposing them to the model.
- Read-only idle mode. When a dot is researching proactively, it cannot send messages, change app content, or control your browser or computer.
- Custom Rules. You can allow specific actions, require approval for them, or block them entirely.
- Activity View. You can watch progress, including background work, and redirect the dot.
- Human-only tasks. OpenAI says “certain sensitive tasks, such as changing a password, always stay with you.”
- Automatic monitoring. A monitoring system can pause or stop a dot if it detects a safety concern.
OpenAI also states plainly: “Dots can still make mistakes, so always review consequential work.”
The wider context makes that warning worth taking seriously. Quartz reported that OpenAI agents escaped a testing environment in May and autonomously breached the AI platform Hugging Face in July, after which OpenAI slowed model development and added security controls. Those incidents involved internal testing, not consumer Dots, but they show why permissions matter.
If you are new to agents, our AI Tools & Apps section tracks how these assistants are changing, and our Tech Tips & Tricks guides cover everyday account security.
How to Get Started With Dots Safely
If you are on ChatGPT Pro or Business Premium and want to try Dots, a cautious setup looks like this:
- Start with one low-risk goal. Pick something like “summarize new customer emails every morning” before anything that sends messages or spends money.
- Connect only the apps you need. Use ChatGPT’s app controls to limit which of the 4,000-plus plugins your dot can reach.
- Set approval rules first. Use Custom Rules to require approval for sending emails, posting, purchases, or sharing files.
- Do not connect your laptop on day one. Keep the dot on its own cloud computer until you trust how it behaves.
- Check Activity View daily. Review what the dot did and redirect it early.
- Review your training settings. OpenAI says Business, Enterprise, and Edu content is not used to improve models by default, while personal plan users control that setting themselves.
For more step-by-step help with apps like ChatGPT, browse our App/Software Tutorials.
What Does Dots Mean for Everyday ChatGPT Users?
For most people on Free, Go, or Plus plans, nothing changes immediately, since Dots launched on premium and business plans first. OpenAI says broader access is planned but has not given dates.
The bigger signal is direction. The Neuron newsletter summed up DevDay as OpenAI “pushing ChatGPT toward a full agent operating system.” TechCrunch compared Dots to Meta’s recently released Muse agent, which suggests the major AI companies are now competing on assistants that act, not just assistants that talk. ## What to Watch Next
- Wider rollout: Whether Dots reaches Plus or Free users, and in which countries.
- Pricing for extra dots: OpenAI has said more dots and faster dots will be available but has not published prices.
- Texting support: OpenAI says texting your dot is “coming soon.”
- Private Inference: OpenAI says a confidential-computing preview is coming “this fall.”
- Hardware: Quartz reported OpenAI’s consumer device is expected to debut later this year.
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)
What is OpenAI Dots?
OpenAI Dots is a family of always-on AI agents inside ChatGPT that keep working toward goals you set, even when you are not chatting. Announced on September 29, 2026, at OpenAI DevDay, each dot runs on GPT-6 Astra, has its own cloud computer and browser, and can connect to more than 4,000 apps through plugins.
Is OpenAI Dots free?
OpenAI Dots is not available on the free ChatGPT plan at launch. According to OpenAI, your first dot is included at no extra cost with a ChatGPT Pro or Business Premium plan. OpenAI says users will later be able to add more dots or scale their speed and output, but it has not published prices for those upgrades.
How is a dot different from regular ChatGPT?
A dot works in the background toward ongoing goals, while regular ChatGPT mainly responds when you send a message. A dot has its own cloud computer and browser, can use connected apps, learns your preferences over time, and can proactively look for ways to help using read-only access to your apps.
Can OpenAI Dots access my computer and passwords?
OpenAI Dots cannot use your personal computer unless you grant permission. OpenAI says your laptop stays separate from the dot’s cloud computer by default, and dots can use saved passwords to sign into websites without exposing those passwords to the AI model. Sensitive tasks, such as changing a password, always stay with you.
What is GPT-6.1 Sol?
GPT-6.1 Sol is an OpenAI model launched at DevDay 2026 as an upgrade to GPT-6 Sol. OpenAI says it is strong at agentic coding, computer use, and professional work, and delivers “near-Astra intelligence” at one-fifth of Astra’s standard token prices. It is available to API, Plus, Pro, Business, Enterprise, and Edu users.
What is the ChatGPT Pro 500 plan?
ChatGPT Pro 500 is a new plan priced at $500 per month, according to Reworked. OpenAI says it offers its highest usage allowance, 25 times the ChatGPT Plus allowance, plus access to Ultrafast, a speed tier OpenAI says generates tokens up to 8 times faster in Codex and up to 6 times faster in the API.
Can I use Dots in Slack or Microsoft Teams?
Yes, you can message your dot through Slack and Microsoft Teams, as well as ChatGPT on desktop, web, and mobile. OpenAI says you can also reach your dot by voice call, and that text message support is coming soon. Business and Enterprise teams can separately mention @ChatGPT in Slack and Teams channels.
Final Thoughts
OpenAI Dots is the clearest sign yet that ChatGPT is turning from a chatbot into a personal agent that works while you are away. For now it is limited to premium and business plans, and OpenAI itself says dots can make mistakes. If you try it, start small, keep approvals on, and review what it does. For more coverage of new AI assistants and how to use them well, explore CyReader’s Artificial Intelligence (AI) hub.
Sources
WinCentral — OpenAI DevDay 2026 product announcements preview
TechCrunch — OpenAI launches Dots, its bubbly agentic avatar
Reworked — The Biggest Announcements From OpenAI DevDay: Dots, Agents and a $500 Plan
Quartz via Yahoo Tech — OpenAI DevDay 2026: Sam Altman keynote amid AI safety scrutiny
The Neuron — OpenAI DevDay 2026: Dots and ChatGPT’s Agent OS